Home

compass set

Posted By: kenny k

compass set - 09/18/19 06:39 PM

I have been through the archives and search. Need the distance from trap to the 4 holes?
Posted By: imissed

Re: compass set - 09/18/19 09:10 PM

I use about 18". But I'm no pro.
Posted By: Michigan Trappin

Re: compass set - 09/18/19 09:20 PM

6” from center of pan works on #2 size traps. But it’s really not that important. The whole premise is to keep its feet moving as it checks each odor So 9” works too
Posted By: illinideer

Re: compass set - 09/19/19 09:56 AM

I'm about 8 from center of pan I just gage the distance between my pinky and thumb stretched out. I run #2bridger and dukes. Michigan Trapping also gave me the tip, once you punched your holes put your lure on a q tip and drop it in with the lure facing up. Keeps it from sitting in a puddle of water if you get some rain.
This set and Zagger's pipe dream are my main go to's
J
Posted By: Tsouth87

Re: compass set - 09/19/19 01:01 PM

Not to sound just completely stupid but what is a compass set? When is the optimal time to use it?

Re: compass set - 09/19/19 09:38 PM

Bed your trap take your stake driver and make 4 holes about 6 -8 inches from the center of the pan. I make my holes about 5 inches deep. Put a different lure or bait in each hole then blend everything in. I'll make mine right in a middle of a mowed path or field edge no backing once they start to work it they'll be moving their feet checking each hole. I use this more than I do a flat set as long as I can get a hole in the ground I'll use it. Here a pic of one not blended in
J
[Linked Image]
Posted By: kenny k

Re: compass set - 09/19/19 10:24 PM

Thank you guys for the help..
Posted By: Tsouth87

Re: compass set - 09/19/19 10:29 PM

Awesome! Thank y’all. I will be adding this one in the line this year
Posted By: imissed

Re: compass set - 09/19/19 11:41 PM

Originally Posted by illinideer