Home

Pan covers or underpans, whos using what?

Posted By: BraskaYoter

Pan covers or underpans, whos using what? - 11/15/19 07:55 PM

Couple years ago i switched from fiberglass screen pan covers to underalls, actually dont care for underalls but have since switched to 1/2” fiberglass pipe insulation cut into 4” pieces and fold over and place under pan, have had really good results. I have heard polyfill also works good, but my pickup would look like a teddy bear mass casualty scene im aftaid. What are you using?
Posted By: JustinEllisNM

Re: Pan covers or underpans, whos using what? - 11/15/19 08:11 PM

I am using polyfill on almost everything, just bought a cheap pillow and cut a whole in one end. Keeps the polyfill from going everywhere.

I still have an assortment of pan covers I am experimenting with. FG screen, Aluminum Screen, Hardware Cloth, even tried out sandpaper. So far nothing seems to be better or worse, but i just started playing with the aluminum screen and hardware cloth, so time will tell.

I used ot use wax paper, and frankly everything is better than that, at least in my experience.
Posted By: AmendII71

Re: Pan covers or underpans, whos using what? - 11/15/19 09:05 PM

I used coffee filters then switched to polyfill under the pan. Now, I use a trappers cap and pete moss with no cover. I have had good results. I use MB 450 and 550 traps if wondering.
Posted By: Mousey Trapper

Re: Pan covers or underpans, whos using what? - 11/16/19 02:07 AM

The last 15 years all I use is underall and peat moss inside my traps
Posted By: Anonymous

Re: Pan covers or underpans, whos using what? - 11/16/19 02:19 AM

I'm a polyfill kinda guy and I'm not going back laugh
Posted By: jabNE

Re: Pan covers or underpans, whos using what? - 11/16/19 02:46 AM

I use pipe wrap insulation under the pan, have used that for years.
Jim
Posted By: AJE

Re: Pan covers or underpans, whos using what? - 11/16/19 03:33 AM

Originally Posted by JustinEllisNM