Home

Beginner coyote trapping

Posted By: TrapperD123

Beginner coyote trapping - 10/18/21 11:23 PM

Any advice for a beginner coyote trapper would be greatly appreciated thks. I've been trapping for several years but never targeted coyotes gonna give it a try this year.
Posted By: 20scout

Re: Beginner coyote trapping - 10/19/21 01:24 AM

Lot's of great info in the archives.
Posted By: cmcf

Re: Beginner coyote trapping - 10/19/21 02:49 AM

Like most other fur bearers look for travel ways and pinch points crop transition, fences and corners look for scat and tracks. Set as close to and on sign as possible. Master the dirt hole, flat , and scent post. As far as bait and lure less can be more many on this forum will tell you about lures being dug up months after the lure was placed . Keep it clean get in set as quickly as possible and get out check from as far away as possible. Bed your trap solid. Be patient don’t fuss with and second guess your sets.
As said above a ton of good knowledge and experience in the archives. Coyote wars for example. Good luck and welcome to the forum.

Re: Beginner coyote trapping - 10/19/21 03:33 AM

Thanks for the info guys! I'll be checking it out!
Posted By: BTLowry

Re: Beginner coyote trapping - 10/19/21 11:43 AM

Check the archives, ask questions and if at all possible find someone who will take you along and show you how they do it.

Has been working for me
Posted By: the Blak Spot

Re: Beginner coyote trapping - 10/19/21 11:47 AM

Save yourself some years off the learning curve and get Mark junes book or dvds
Posted By: steeltraps

Re: Beginner coyote trapping - 10/19/21 12:15 PM

Originally Posted by BTLowry
Check the archives, ask questions and if at all possible find someone who will take you along and show you how they do it.

Has been working for me

This is good advice. Find someone local that know what they are doing and ride with them.
Posted By: Yes sir

Re: Beginner coyote trapping - 10/19/21 10:58 PM