Home

Making wax dirt

Posted By: Bearcoons

Making wax dirt - 08/31/22 03:18 AM

I’m a novice in all things trapping. Making my first attempt at making wax dirt. I’ve read a lot on here of different methods and watched a few videos. Here’s my two questions
For a newbie what would you guys that have made it recommend to do it. Solar, roasting pans on grill or wood stove or I concrete mixer and thermal gauge to shoot temps.
Second if I do the mixer there is a bit of residual concrete in the mixer not alot but a little. Is this a big issue?

Feel free to say anything you want tips and tricks
Posted By: Yukon John

Re: Making wax dirt - 08/31/22 04:13 AM

I like LawDog's method, although I've never made any. If I were to, his would be where I'd start.
Posted By: Scott__aR

Re: Making wax dirt - 08/31/22 06:49 AM

Depends how much waxed dirt you plan on making and how much time you have. Sounds like you have the mixer. What do you have as a heat source? Making 5 gals = any method works, 55+ gals = I use the mixer and a couple of weed burners.

Re: Making wax dirt - 08/31/22 12:51 PM

Scott good point I took the tractor over to the hill dig out the hillside and got two 5 gallon buckets worth of dirt that I have already pre sifted twice. And dried on a tarp for two days. Actually probably about 11 gallons. Gotta thin it down just a touch before adding wax.
Posted By: 20scout

Re: Making wax dirt - 08/31/22 01:12 PM

First time use I would go solar, especially if you don't need alot. But then again I do about 40 gallons a year using solar. Temps never get hot enough to burn your wax but you need to do this while it it hot enough. Wait too long in the season and you'll have to use another heat source.
Posted By: Golf ball

Re: Making wax dirt - 08/31/22 01:55 PM