Home

Another pull out in a 550

Posted By: Keystonekiller

Another pull out in a 550 - 01/20/23 07:39 PM

Had another critter pull out of a 550 I'm guessing there just getting leverage bc I'm running drags . Got the offset 550 2 coil on 10 ft of chain with sabertooth drags I'm just having bad luck with the drags did hold a couple reds but thas the 4th pullout now an it's not like they just pull it tight an take off you can see there in trap for a little bit before they get out .....any comments would be great
Posted By: k snow

Re: Another pull out in a 550 - 01/20/23 08:01 PM

MB or Duke? Just curious.

Re: Another pull out in a 550 - 01/20/23 08:15 PM

Mb
Posted By: Bob

Re: Another pull out in a 550 - 01/20/23 08:17 PM

I’ve been running offset 2 coiled MB550s for 12 years, and I don’t remember ever having a pullout in one. Hundreds of critters caught, mostly coyotes, and the only one to ever pull out was deer. I don’t run them on drags very much but I’ve caught lots of critters in them in situations where the animal could get leverage and it’s never been a problem

Re: Another pull out in a 550 - 01/20/23 08:18 PM

That is very odd. My MB 550s have held every coyote, fox, badger, skunk, coon and bobcat these ever stepped in them

Re: Another pull out in a 550 - 01/20/23 08:19 PM

Did you mess with the pan tension?
Posted By: k snow

Re: Another pull out in a 550 - 01/20/23 08:19 PM

Do you know what kind of critter it is? Is it possibly deer?
Posted By: sportsman94

Re: Another pull out in a 550 - 01/20/23 08:56 PM

I also have bad luck with 550s. Wet clay conditions are the worst for me.
Posted By: 8117 Steve R

Re: Another pull out in a 550 - 01/20/23 09:25 PM

How old are the traps that are experiencing pullouts?
Posted By: Yes sir

Re: Another pull out in a 550 - 01/20/23 09:52 PM