Home

Mole trapping?

Posted By: Indiancreek

Mole trapping? - 04/29/20 01:14 AM

Hello I’m new to this mole trapping. I’m not really having any problems catching them when I can identify the main runs. I’m wondering what you look for when your trapping in a very small area(say 20x30) and it’s completely tore up. No noticeable main runs, it’s just a scrabbled mess. Any info would be appreciated. Thanks
Posted By: Getting There

Re: Mole trapping? - 04/29/20 01:35 AM

There is some place they are coming in or going out. I hate these places. In most cases I catch them some other place. It is odd, most lawns will have a spot like that.

Re: Mole trapping? - 04/29/20 03:29 PM

Thanks for the reply. The area is against a wooded area. I’ll look a little harder.
Posted By: EatenByLimestone

Re: Mole trapping? - 04/29/20 11:20 PM

That's a feeding area. Sometimes that's what you have to work with. If they come back to your are, make sure they find a trap!

Re: Mole trapping? - 04/29/20 11:34 PM

Originally Posted by EatenByLimestone
That's a feeding area. Sometimes that's what you have to work with. If they come back to your are, make sure they find a trap!

Thanks. That’s kinda what I did. I set 5 traps yesterday in the spots I thought looked best. Had 4 moles out of the 5 today so I got lucky. I’m new to this and have a lot to learn.
Posted By: Jim Bethell

Re: Mole trapping? - 04/29/20 11:40 PM

Sounds like we could learn from you.
Posted By: Bob Jameson

Re: Mole trapping? - 04/30/20 12:23 PM

I think you have lots of hairy tail moles in Indiana as I caught several when I trapped out there in the early fall years back. Gave me something to do after handling animals each day and kept me sharp with trapping them.

Re: Mole trapping? - 04/30/20 05:07 PM

Right now in my area it is cold and wet. I have lived here for all my life and the water has never been this high. The ground is cold down 4-6 inches.

Re: Mole trapping? - 04/30/20 11:51 PM