Home

Trapping-related Diseases

Posted By: WAUrbanTrapper

Trapping-related Diseases - 07/24/12 07:12 AM

I'm still a newbie but I have trapped coons, mink, muskrat, ermine, beaver and bobcat and I haven't always used rubber gloves while skinning. What trapping-related diseases and parasites should I get tested for at my next check-up? Which ones do I not have to worry about if I don't have unmistakable symptoms?
Posted By: TrapperWeasel

Re: Trapping-related Diseases - 07/25/12 01:43 AM

Rabies, Tetanus and Bubonic Plague are risks. You can get a rabies shot to prevent it, or if already tested positive for rabies you need to get many exposure shots. Rabies is transmitted from body fluid and air when an infected animal is shot in the head/spine area. Tetanus is preventable by a shot and Bubonic/black plague can come from skinning a bobcat that had eaten a rat sick with the disease, but luckly the plague is only a 16% death rate today instead of 100# way back in the old days.
Posted By: charles

Re: Trapping-related Diseases - 08/16/12 08:41 PM

Rabbit fever, cat scratch fever. Some people get horny.
Posted By: Beaver Cleaver

Re: Trapping-related Diseases - 10/31/12 03:27 PM

I wouldn't worry about getting tested for random things, you would have symptoms by now. Just make sure you are more careful going forward.
Posted By: neverfinished

Re: Trapping-related Diseases - 01/04/13 08:44 PM

Originally Posted By: WeaselWoman
Rabies, Tetanus and Bubonic Plague are risks. You can get a rabies shot to prevent it, or if already tested positive for rabies you need to get many exposure shots. Rabies is transmitted from body fluid and air when an infected animal is shot in the head/spine area. Tetanus is preventable by a shot and Bubonic/black plague can come from skinning a bobcat that had eaten a rat sick with the disease, but luckly the plague is only a 16% death rate today instead of 100# way back in the old days.

Your rabies info is incorrect
Posted By: white17