Home

Ambergris

Posted By: Bruce Rhoads

Ambergris - 05/04/18 03:02 AM

I have a regular source but am looking to try buying some samples online to see what quality there is. When you google it there is a ton out there. Have any of you fooled with this? Any source I should avoid that you have already tried?
Posted By: Bruce Rhoads

Re: Ambergris - 05/04/18 12:13 PM

Crickets lol
Posted By: danny clifton

Re: Ambergris - 05/04/18 12:35 PM

Ambergris I've seen for sale is like tonquin. So pricey I think I live without it just fine. I don't believe my catch would improve any using either one. If it did go up no way in the world it would be more than a handful of skins. Cant justify the expense.
Posted By: Yes sir

Re: Ambergris - 05/05/18 01:06 AM

Doesn't seem that costly when you figure how much of the product is actually in an ounce of lure. Im just learning but a little bit goes a long ways. Actually goes a really long ways. I found out the hard way. I put a enough in a formula that I thought I could just slightly smell it (and I'm talking the amount was measured in drops) and about a week later it completely overpowered the whole formula.

Re: Ambergris - 05/05/18 01:47 AM

Are you talking about tonquin yes sir?
Posted By: Adam Potaczek

Re: Ambergris - 05/05/18 02:25 AM

Ambergris is strong and can be overpowering for sure. Can be a very good ingredient in curiosity lures. Most ambergris is imitation and is reasonably priced. Real ambergris would be very high priced. Adam

Re: Ambergris - 05/05/18 03:31 AM

No it was ambergris. The base I used it in was pretty mild and I didn't add much of anything else. About a week late all I could smell was the the ambergris.

Re: Ambergris - 05/05/18 01:46 PM

Was it fake ambergris? if not how did you tincture it?
Posted By: kytrapper

Re: Ambergris - 05/05/18 03:12 PM