Home

Looking for the Ultimate Skunk Bait Recipe

Posted By: mushmorten

Looking for the Ultimate Skunk Bait Recipe - 09/06/18 01:19 PM

I've got a tough one. I've been trapping skunks for 20 years and have always had great success with fresh sardines in oil. This year I caught three of them right off the bat but this last one that's out there is a smart sucker. Either that or he just doesn't like seafood. I changed it up and tried cat food. No dice. Then tried a mixture of peanut butter, jelly and a little bacon grease. Still nothing.
Wondering if anyone has an old family recipe that might help me to finally catch this sucker.

Thanks,
Jeff in Vermont
Posted By: Jonnytrapper

Re: Looking for the Ultimate Skunk Bait Recipe - 09/06/18 01:59 PM

Cheese
Posted By: MChewk

Re: Looking for the Ultimate Skunk Bait Recipe - 09/06/18 03:30 PM

Nilla wafers are good suspended in a container so the bugs don't eat them... bbq sauce, cat food, etc if you got the trap near them should work.
Posted By: Michigan Trappin

Re: Looking for the Ultimate Skunk Bait Recipe - 09/06/18 05:19 PM

Had one like that. Got it with Wilson's Green beaver lure. Yep sure did
Posted By: danny clifton

Re: Looking for the Ultimate Skunk Bait Recipe - 09/06/18 05:23 PM

asafoetida tincture in some scratched up dirt

Re: Looking for the Ultimate Skunk Bait Recipe - 09/06/18 05:45 PM

Thanks everyone!!!
Posted By: odiferous

Re: Looking for the Ultimate Skunk Bait Recipe - 09/06/18 06:42 PM

Originally Posted By: danny clifton
asafoetida tincture in some scratched up dirt

That's a good one. Fish oil, a little essence?
Posted By: TDHP

Re: Looking for the Ultimate Skunk Bait Recipe - 09/06/18 10:11 PM

Tainted hotdogs are great on skunks.
Posted By: traprjohn

Re: Looking for the Ultimate Skunk Bait Recipe - 09/07/18 02:40 AM

I use cherry pie filling
Posted By: Ken Smith

Re: Looking for the Ultimate Skunk Bait Recipe - 09/07/18 02:47 AM