Home

Hi! new here

Posted By: Waidman

Hi! new here - 01/13/21 07:44 PM

Hi all!

I'm new here at the trapperman forum and wanted to introduce myself. My name is ''Waidman'' ( wink I live in the Netherlands where i work as a fulltime muskrat and nutria trapper. Not for furs, but for the damage they do to our watersystem. Besides having a job for a hobby (and the other way round) i also hunt quit a lot, fish and like to travel...

I hope to learn from you, and hope to have a nice time here!

Best regards,
Waidman.
Posted By: trapper4002

Re: Hi! new here - 01/14/21 05:09 PM

Welcome to show
Posted By: Eddie43

Re: Hi! new here - 01/14/21 05:16 PM

Welcome! I'm sure we would all be interested in sering what traps you use in the Netherlands, and also what methods and set ups you use.

Re: Hi! new here - 01/15/21 07:44 PM

Hi! and thank you!

I will soon post some info and pictures on the traps and methods we use... In the meanwhile i can tell you trapping muskrats here in the Netherlands is a fulltime business with countrywide over 500 fulltime trappers, which operate from 22 different organisations which we call ''waterschappen'' The one i work for is located in the upper most north of the Netherlands. We work with 24 fulltime trappers covering 15 000 kilometers of waterways, canals, lakes and so on... 7 years ago we trapped 24 500 muskrats. (countrywide over 150 000) With the help of new trappers, and new techniques like E-DNA and smart traps (traps that can see if the animal that walks in a cage is a muskrat or, for example is a duck or coot) we managed to reduce our numbers to under 2000 cathes each year. Last year our gouvernement decided that we should try to exterminate muskrats from the Netherlands, and so money is been reseved to do so...