Home

Filing teeth on cam locks - why, how?

Posted By: Kansasbert

Filing teeth on cam locks - why, how? - 08/27/07 07:49 PM

OK Ive read a lot of guys say they file three or more teeth on the gripping portion of the camlocks they use.

First, why - has anyone tested it against locks without teeth side by side?

Second, how - what type file do you use(round, flat, size, etc.), how many teeth, how far apart?

Third, are there certain must do's and must dont's?

Ive fooled around with snares some, I put out probably 40 or 50 a year on my coyote and cat line so I am by no means an expert at all but I have gotten my hands dirty a little. Thanks for any explination and advice in advance.
Posted By: phutch30

Re: Filing teeth on cam locks - why, how? - 08/27/07 07:55 PM

They file teeth in the lock to reduce the cable slipping back thru the lock. Its a fairly common problem with camlocks. It helps the lock "lock" down and choke down the critter. Instead of going thru all that hassel I just use an amberge lock. No slipping with that.
Posted By: Cattrax

Re: Filing teeth on cam locks - why, how? - 08/27/07 07:57 PM

The reason for filing the teeth is to get the cam lock to lock better on the cable, seems the new cam locks on the smaller cable isn't catching and holding as good as the older ones did, so they are relaxing some after a lock up on an animal.
Posted By: Tactical.20

Re: Filing teeth on cam locks - why, how? - 08/27/07 08:48 PM

I was told the cam lock has a better design than the Amberg. I prefer a Long Line Death lock from O'Gorman. These won't normally freeze up with freezing rain or melting snow.T.20

Re: Filing teeth on cam locks - why, how? - 08/27/07 08:54 PM

Thats interesting you say that about the amberg lock T 20, I have been talking to some about them and they have told me they work better then the cam lock, looks like I am going to have to look at them and the long line death lock also, thanks for that tid bit of information.
Posted By: Tactical.20