Home

New to snaring..HELP PLEASE!

Posted By: AuthorTrapper

New to snaring..HELP PLEASE! - 09/20/19 05:22 PM

Hello,
I'm going to try using cable restraints for the very first time this year for coyotes, grey fox, and bobcat. I'm totally new to snaring so I would appreciate any help!
Thank you,
AT
Posted By: Want To Be

Re: New to snaring..HELP PLEASE! - 09/20/19 05:26 PM

Me too!
Posted By: MChewk

Re: New to snaring..HELP PLEASE! - 09/20/19 05:30 PM

Guys why cable restraints? Is that what the law dictates? I would recommend to spend the money and get some lessons from a pro.
Posted By: SNIPERBBB

Re: New to snaring..HELP PLEASE! - 09/20/19 05:34 PM

I don't think Texas mandates restraints unless something has changed recently.
Posted By: Furvor

Re: New to snaring..HELP PLEASE! - 09/20/19 05:52 PM

I think what you want is snares, not clumsy and less effective cable restraints. To gain a little insight you could browse www.snareshop.com and www.dakotaline.com
Posted By: bctomcat

Re: New to snaring..HELP PLEASE! - 09/20/19 05:52 PM

Purchasing a copy of James Lucero's book "Snarelines Across The West" would be a good start at getting educated about snaring.

Re: New to snaring..HELP PLEASE! - 09/20/19 06:20 PM

We are using cable restraints because we have lots of our neighbor's (and our own) cats and dogs running around and we don't want to kill one by accident.

Re: New to snaring..HELP PLEASE! - 09/20/19 06:21 PM

Originally Posted by bctomcat
Purchasing a copy of James Lucero's book "Snarelines Across The West" would be a good start at getting educated about snaring.

How much?
Posted By: Taximan

Re: New to snaring..HELP PLEASE! - 09/20/19 06:52 PM

It is a little spendy,Author-$45 but it would be good to get a general book on snaring.

Restraints may not help with cats but most dogs won't fight a regular snare enough to cause a problem.They usually just sit and wait.A relaxing lock would help.If you are really worried about it,just use foot traps.