Home

coyote glands for rendering

Posted By: danvee

coyote glands for rendering - 12/29/17 02:55 AM

So I have a gallon of coyote glands anal, bladders and hock glands also about 6 inches of anal tract. Question how should I go about rendering this to make a gland lure. They are all frozen and not ground yet so looking to get a good start on a lure for next year.
Posted By: tbn

Re: coyote glands for rendering - 12/29/17 12:09 PM

Did you use the search button? Or google search like baitandluremakers.com forum?
Posted By: robert.d12

Re: coyote glands for rendering - 12/29/17 01:22 PM

I am not an expert but I would grind them fine then put them in a jar with a little high quality urine.Then let them age for at least a year in a cool dry place.
Posted By: Pasadena

Re: coyote glands for rendering - 12/29/17 02:08 PM

Depends what the desired response from your lure you want is on what you do with them. I'm not going to tell you to grind add urine and age. I'm going to tell ya to search the archives. Jameson, Lenon, Graham, Dobbins, June and many other bait and lure makers have given responses on questions like these.
It's pretty easy to ruin a bunch of glands by just adding urine and aging. You have to know when done is done and hopefully have it right.
Here's a good one to start ya out.
https://trapperman.com/forum/ubbthreads.php/topics/644706/LURE_-_Coyote_Gland_Lure
Posted By: tbn

Re: coyote glands for rendering - 12/30/17 02:07 AM

Idk, I grind cover in urine let sit a year then add 2 other ingredients and it hammers them dead.Glands are such a versatile tool.
Posted By: Pasadena

Re: coyote glands for rendering - 12/30/17 02:15 AM

Originally Posted By: tbn
Idk, I grind cover in urine let sit a year then add 2 other ingredients and it hammers them dead.Glands are such a versatile tool.

You must know what you're doing. A quote from Mark June, on this very subject. "Now if you don't know what you're doing they can turn to junk REAL quick too."