trapping
kids

Trading Post

Active Threads | Active Posts | Unanswered Today | Since Yesterday | This Week
Trap Collector Forum
1 hour ago
Hi,
I’m new to everything trap related. Last week I stumbled upon an old trap sticking out of the leaves on our mountain property in California. It was still nailed to the base of an old tree that fell down the hill and landed in a dry stream bed. The tree fell at least 5 years ago, and I’ve walked by it many times, but never saw it. After prying the nail out of the tree, I got the chain loose and took home my new, rusty prize. I’ve spent a couple of hours researching online and I’m pretty positive that it’s a Victor Oneida #2 double long spring. It’s hard to read, but the pan says “No 2, Oneida Community” (I’m almost positive it’s a number 2, but it’s hard to make out). The trap is 14 inches long. There is also the remnants of the letter R, which I’m guessing is the end of the word “Victor.” However, when I look online, all of the other Victor trap pans have a “V” punched into them, and mine doesn’t. Is mine a pre-1911 Victor? Or do I perhaps have the brand wrong? I would love a date range if anyone is knowledgeable in that area. Also, the chain has been repaired and is made up of 3 different chains that have been wired together, which I thought was pretty cool. Thank you for any info you can give!
0 16 Read More
Trapper Talk
2 hours ago
I like to read a lot. I was at a garage sale and bought a box full of assorted books. When I got home I went through them and found a book on reloading. It's title is: Hornaday Handbook of Cartridge Reloading, Fourth Edition, Volume 2, Tables & Charts.The book is in like new condition. It must be older, as it doesn't list some of the newer calibers such as 6.5 Creedmoor, 300 WSM, etc.

I reload for my 30-06, 244, 357, and shotguns. But, I really don't have any use for it. If one of you would like it, I would be happy to send it to you. PM me if you're interested.
0 57 Read More
Trap Shed