No Profanity *** No Flaming *** No Advertising *** No Anti Trappers *** No Politics
No Non-Target Catches *** No Links to Anti-trapping Sites *** No Avoiding Profanity Filter


Home~Trap Talk~ADC Forum~Trap Shed~Wilderness Trapping~International Trappers~Fur Handling

Auction Forum~Trapper Tips~Links~Gallery~Basic Sets~Convention Calendar~Chat~ Trap Collecting Forum

Trapper's Humor~Strictly Trapping~Fur Buyers Directory~Mugshots~Fur Sale Directory~Wildcrafting

Trapper's Tales~Words From The Past~Legends~Archives~Kids Forum~Lure Formulators Forum


~~~ Dobbins' Products Catalog ~~~


Minnesota Trapline Products
Please support our sponsor for the Trappers Talk Page - Minnesota Trapline Products


Print Thread
Hop To
Page 2 of 2 1 2
Re: Coon skinning machine height? [Re: The Beav] #6491141
03/14/19 08:47 PM
03/14/19 08:47 PM
Joined: Jun 2010
Posts: 6,626
Iowa
~ADC~ Offline
The Count
~ADC~  Offline
The Count

Joined: Jun 2010
Posts: 6,626
Iowa
Originally Posted by The Beav
... In my opinion these vise grips set ups are way over rated.





Yep they suck. laugh

Re: Coon skinning machine height? [Re: IACoonTrapper] #6491178
03/14/19 09:20 PM
03/14/19 09:20 PM
Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 15,841
Wisconsin
T
The Beav Offline
trapper
The Beav  Offline
trapper
T

Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 15,841
Wisconsin
To each his own.
By using the cable you can choke up on more hide and save on skinner height. And of coarse It's cheaper
and If you can't weld or don't have the equipment It's simpler.

Nothing wrong with your set up but there are several ways to skin a coon.

Could you have found a smaller coon to make this flick? LOL

And I never said they suck I said they were over rated. LOL

Last edited by The Beav; 03/14/19 09:25 PM.

The forum Know It All according to Muskrat
Re: Coon skinning machine height? [Re: The Beav] #6491202
03/14/19 09:45 PM
03/14/19 09:45 PM
Joined: Jun 2010
Posts: 6,626
Iowa
~ADC~ Offline
The Count
~ADC~  Offline
The Count

Joined: Jun 2010
Posts: 6,626
Iowa
Originally Posted by The Beav
To each his own.
By using the cable you can choke up on more hide and save on skinner height. And of coarse It's cheaper
and If you can't weld or don't have the equipment It's simpler.

Nothing wrong with your set up but there are several ways to skin a coon.

Could you have found a smaller coon to make this flick? LOL

And I never said they suck I said they were over rated. LOL


That's a big coon beav. I make any coons look small. lol

Here's a couple big cold monsters for you...



No one has time to play with that cable and stuff, that's for old men and girls. laugh


Re: Coon skinning machine height? [Re: IACoonTrapper] #6491543
03/15/19 10:44 AM
03/15/19 10:44 AM
Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 4,850
South metro, MN
C
Calvin Offline
trapper
Calvin  Offline
trapper
C

Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 4,850
South metro, MN
The distance from my floor to the bottom of my gambrel is exactly 8Ft. I have never needed to re hook a MN coon. I use ADCs base system and wouldn't use anything else personally. If you really needed more pull, you could cut the base down a bit, but as said, won't be a need for any coon you get at 8ft, floor to gambrel distance.


The insane are running the asylum.
Re: Coon skinning machine height? [Re: IACoonTrapper] #6491560
03/15/19 11:10 AM
03/15/19 11:10 AM
Joined: Dec 2014
Posts: 910
MN
Y
yukonal Offline
trapper
yukonal  Offline
trapper
Y

Joined: Dec 2014
Posts: 910
MN
[Linked Image]

Re: Coon skinning machine height? [Re: IACoonTrapper] #6491565
03/15/19 11:12 AM
03/15/19 11:12 AM
Joined: Dec 2014
Posts: 910
MN
Y
yukonal Offline
trapper
yukonal  Offline
trapper
Y

Joined: Dec 2014
Posts: 910
MN
[Linked Image]

Re: Coon skinning machine height? [Re: yukonal] #6491573
03/15/19 11:28 AM
03/15/19 11:28 AM
Joined: Feb 2019
Posts: 9
Iowa
I
IACoonTrapper Offline OP
trapper
IACoonTrapper  Offline OP
trapper
I

Joined: Feb 2019
Posts: 9
Iowa
Originally Posted by yukonal
[Linked Image]

Thanks for the pictures! That's a good idea and seems really easy to move around. One of these days I'll see what I can rig up.

Re: Coon skinning machine height? [Re: IACoonTrapper] #6491577
03/15/19 11:34 AM
03/15/19 11:34 AM
Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 2,297
Pottawatamie co. IA
LLtrapper Offline
"The Coon Combine"
LLtrapper  Offline
"The Coon Combine"

Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 2,297
Pottawatamie co. IA
Wow that takes up a lot of space laying out like that. What happens to all the blood and dirt? How do you make cuts on the opposite side of the animal? Mine swivels. LLL


"Opportunity is missed by most because it is dressed in waders and looks like work." Thomas Edison (except for the waders part)
Re: Coon skinning machine height? [Re: IACoonTrapper] #6491679
03/15/19 03:01 PM
03/15/19 03:01 PM
Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 15,841
Wisconsin
T
The Beav Offline
trapper
The Beav  Offline
trapper
T

Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 15,841
Wisconsin
Nice set up.
When I built mine I had the winch built up off the bench at about 6" and the same with the leg hook ups. There Is no need to be able to completely flip the critter a half a turn Is all you need.

If you have no head room It's the perfect system and your not spending $400.00 for some skinner.


The forum Know It All according to Muskrat
Re: Coon skinning machine height? [Re: LLtrapper] #6491689
03/15/19 03:26 PM
03/15/19 03:26 PM
Joined: Dec 2014
Posts: 910
MN
Y
yukonal Offline
trapper
yukonal  Offline
trapper
Y

Joined: Dec 2014
Posts: 910
MN
Originally Posted by LLtrapper
Wow that takes up a lot of space laying out like that. What happens to all the blood and dirt? How do you make cuts on the opposite side of the animal? Mine swivels. LLL


Blood and dirt gets wiped off with a paper towel after each animal. Wood bed is poly'ed, so it just wipes off easily. I skin back up, so no need to turn. The animal will spin while it's hooked up. Spike thru the arms, and all cuts can be made hooked up with the back up, and belly down.

Really doesn't take up any more space than any other system, as it also serves as the work bench, and is my entire skinning/fleshing/boarding work station. All my skinning, hide prep tools stay on the same bench/table. And all stretching/put up uses the same work station. I flesh right beside it, so just set my knife and other stuff on same table, while I'm fleshing.

Crazy easy to use, and never need to bend over, or look up to skin. And...no blood from the animal rolling down the hide.

Last edited by yukonal; 03/15/19 03:28 PM.
Re: Coon skinning machine height? [Re: IACoonTrapper] #6491690
03/15/19 03:28 PM
03/15/19 03:28 PM
Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 4,850
South metro, MN
C
Calvin Offline
trapper
Calvin  Offline
trapper
C

Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 4,850
South metro, MN
Yeah, I wouldn't have room for that horizontal skinner, either. And I sure like the rotating base on ADCs.
But to each his own. Whatever works for a guy.


The insane are running the asylum.
Page 2 of 2 1 2
Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread