Strictly Trapping


No Profanity *** No Flaming *** No Advertising *** No Anti Trappers *** No Politics
No Non-Target Catches *** No Links to Anti-trapping Sites *** No Avoiding Profanity Filter


Home~Trap Talk~ADC Forum~Trap Shed~Wilderness Trapping~International Trappers~Fur Handling

Auction Forum~Trapper Tips~Links~Gallery~Basic Sets~Convention Calendar~Chat~ Trap Collecting Forum

Trapper's Humor~Strictly Trapping~Fur Buyers Directory~Mugshots~Fur Sale Directory~Wildcrafting

Trapper's Tales~Words From The Past~Legends~Archives~Kids Forum~Lure Formulators Forum


~~~ Dobbins' Products Catalog ~~~


Trading Post
(Please support F&T Trading Post, our sponsor for the Trapping Only Forum)



TrappersPost
Please support Trappers post, a sponsor of the Strictly Trapping Forum



Print Thread
Hop To
Page 2 of 2 1 2
Re: Can't catch a coyote [Re: Ajshoots] #7779412
01/22/23 01:10 PM
01/22/23 01:10 PM
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 3,854
Northern Nevada
B
Bob Offline
trapper
Bob  Offline
trapper
B

Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 3,854
Northern Nevada
Nice color on that one. Our western reds are much paler than that usually


"I have two guns, one for each of ya."
Re: Can't catch a coyote [Re: Ajshoots] #7779568
01/22/23 04:17 PM
01/22/23 04:17 PM
Joined: Jan 2022
Posts: 13
Ohio
Ajshoots Offline OP
trapper
Ajshoots  Offline OP
trapper

Joined: Jan 2022
Posts: 13
Ohio
Thank you for all the replies and PM's. Was a big confidence boost to catch a red this morning and with all the knowledge I have soaked in from this post, I feel like I have a good idea what changes I need to make. Thanks again!!

Re: Can't catch a coyote [Re: Ajshoots] #7780189
01/23/23 08:52 AM
01/23/23 08:52 AM
Joined: Dec 2022
Posts: 1,730
illinois
J
jalstat Offline
trapper
jalstat  Offline
trapper
J

Joined: Dec 2022
Posts: 1,730
illinois
Keep catching reds once the coyotes are there the reds will mostly be gone. Sometimes it takes several days for a dog to make his rounds be patient and leave the sets alone.

Re: Can't catch a coyote [Re: jalstat] #7780361
01/23/23 01:39 PM
01/23/23 01:39 PM
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 3,854
Northern Nevada
B
Bob Offline
trapper
Bob  Offline
trapper
B

Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 3,854
Northern Nevada
Originally Posted by jalstat
Keep catching reds once the coyotes are there the reds will mostly be gone. Sometimes it takes several days for a dog to make his rounds be patient and leave the sets alone.



Thatís not what I see on my line. Reds, greys, kit fox and coyotes have been inhabiting the same country here forever.


"I have two guns, one for each of ya."
Re: Can't catch a coyote [Re: jalstat] #7780613
01/23/23 07:52 PM
01/23/23 07:52 PM
Joined: Feb 2015
Posts: 4,863
alabama
steeltraps Offline
trapper
steeltraps  Offline
trapper

Joined: Feb 2015
Posts: 4,863
alabama
Originally Posted by jalstat
Keep catching reds once the coyotes are there the reds will mostly be gone. Sometimes it takes several days for a dog to make his rounds be patient and leave the sets alone.

Same in the south. Coyotes = NO red fox. Most QDMA places that are high end have had me eliminate the greys and bobcats. The greys and bobcats especially just dont rebound well. I can remenber when I started on 35000 acres down south. Caught as many as 9 bobcats in 1 = 14 day trip. Now its trapped = 3 times a year. 21 days a trip. Southern QDMA is serious about deer fawn population and turkeys

Re: Can't catch a coyote [Re: Ajshoots] #7780721
01/23/23 10:22 PM
01/23/23 10:22 PM
Joined: Dec 2021
Posts: 146
New Mexico
C
ChadDaniel Offline
trapper
ChadDaniel  Offline
trapper
C

Joined: Dec 2021
Posts: 146
New Mexico
Congratulations!!!!


May God bless you and yours
Re: Can't catch a coyote [Re: Ajshoots] #7780831
01/24/23 12:59 AM
01/24/23 12:59 AM
Joined: Dec 2020
Posts: 1,103
Wisconsin
Scott__aR Offline
trapper
Scott__aR  Offline
trapper

Joined: Dec 2020
Posts: 1,103
Wisconsin
Originally Posted by Ajshoots
I understand the wind, but am I unrealistic that a coyote won't smell the lure or bait from 3-5 feet away? We have no fence rows or heavily used trails. These coyotes are crossing open fields and I am making sets along the woods edge where they typically cross. Have a couple times that on camera the coyote circled a set but that was it. Never got anywhere near the trap. At the same time there was a live rabbit on camera that I assumed stole its attention??



Coyote will run the open field along the woods edge. It's habitual for them, it's easier and they can still scan the woodline as they wander. You may want to set additional flat or post sets 8'-10' off the wood edge in the fields. No baits, just lure or urine at this time of year.

Nice fox by the way!

Fox live within the margins between coyote territories here in northern WI. Any red fox living within coyote home territory generally has a short life span.

Last edited by Scott__aR; 01/24/23 01:01 AM. Reason: Emphasis

Megapredator ... top of the food chain!
Member of WTA
Member of MTPCA
Member of NTA
Re: Can't catch a coyote [Re: Bob] #7780865
01/24/23 03:48 AM
01/24/23 03:48 AM
Joined: Dec 2022
Posts: 1,730
illinois
J
jalstat Offline
trapper
jalstat  Offline
trapper
J

Joined: Dec 2022
Posts: 1,730
illinois
Originally Posted by Bob
Originally Posted by jalstat
Keep catching reds once the coyotes are there the reds will mostly be gone. Sometimes it takes several days for a dog to make his rounds be patient and leave the sets alone.



Thatís not what I see on my line. Reds, greys, kit fox and coyotes have been inhabiting the same country here forever.

Probably so but here in farm country that is not the case red fox are scarce and greys are gone haven't caught one in 30 years before the onset of wiley e 25 -30 fox were common running a dozen sets in high school .

Re: Can't catch a coyote [Re: Ajshoots] #7780988
01/24/23 10:04 AM
01/24/23 10:04 AM
Joined: Jan 2022
Posts: 13
Ohio
Ajshoots Offline OP
trapper
Ajshoots  Offline OP
trapper

Joined: Jan 2022
Posts: 13
Ohio
Finally caught a coyote. Nice sized male. Saw him on camera when I got up this morning. Was so excited I went to work late so I could go get him.

7c40e05d-988b-4724-8b7f-8d10b77a9cc4.jpg
1st one.

20230124_063747.jpg
Re: Can't catch a coyote [Re: Ajshoots] #7780999
01/24/23 10:22 AM
01/24/23 10:22 AM
Joined: Dec 2016
Posts: 506
SC Iowa
btomlin Offline
trapper
btomlin  Offline
trapper

Joined: Dec 2016
Posts: 506
SC Iowa
Nice catch! Now stick that trap back in the ground, feather in/out your catch circle hard line and #2 will be along sooner than later. Congrats

Re: Can't catch a coyote [Re: Ajshoots] #7781013
01/24/23 10:38 AM
01/24/23 10:38 AM
Joined: Jan 2022
Posts: 13
Ohio
Ajshoots Offline OP
trapper
Ajshoots  Offline OP
trapper

Joined: Jan 2022
Posts: 13
Ohio
Unfortunately, there are many inches of snow coming tonight through the rest of the week.

Re: Can't catch a coyote [Re: Ajshoots] #7781036
01/24/23 11:08 AM
01/24/23 11:08 AM
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 3,854
Northern Nevada
B
Bob Offline
trapper
Bob  Offline
trapper
B

Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 3,854
Northern Nevada
Originally Posted by Ajshoots
Unfortunately, there are many inches of snow coming tonight through the rest of the week.


Thatís alright. I catch a lot of fur right before and during a big storm.


"I have two guns, one for each of ya."
Re: Can't catch a coyote [Re: Ajshoots] #7781065
01/24/23 11:42 AM
01/24/23 11:42 AM
Joined: Jan 2017
Posts: 8,660
Marion Kansas
Y
Yes sir Offline
trapper
Yes sir  Offline
trapper
Y

Joined: Jan 2017
Posts: 8,660
Marion Kansas
Congratulations

Re: Can't catch a coyote [Re: Ajshoots] #7781647
01/24/23 11:55 PM
01/24/23 11:55 PM
Joined: Dec 2022
Posts: 1,730
illinois
J
jalstat Offline
trapper
jalstat  Offline
trapper
J

Joined: Dec 2022
Posts: 1,730
illinois
Super nice

Re: Can't catch a coyote [Re: Ajshoots] #7781803
01/25/23 08:18 AM
01/25/23 08:18 AM
Joined: Jan 2014
Posts: 562
Western New York
T
Tony1967 Offline
trapper
Tony1967  Offline
trapper
T

Joined: Jan 2014
Posts: 562
Western New York
Now you will have to change the name of the thread! Congrats!!

Page 2 of 2 1 2
Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread

Moderated by  Drifter, tmrschessie, Wolfdog91 

Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.1