Fur Handling Archive

No Profanity *** No Flaming *** No Advertising *** No Anti Trappers *** No Politics
No Non-Target Catches *** No Links to Anti-trapping Sites *** No Avoiding Profanity Filter

Home~Trap Talk~ADC Forum~Trap Shed~Wilderness Trapping~International Trappers~Fur Handling

Auction Forum~Trapper Tips~Links~Gallery~Basic Sets~Convention Calendar~Chat~ Trap Collecting Forum

Trapper's Humor~Strictly Trapping~Fur Buyers Directory~Mugshots~Fur Sale Directory~Wildcrafting

Trapper's Tales~Words From The Past~Legends~Archives~Kids Forum~Lure Formulators Forum

~Catalog~

Print Thread
Hop To
Help with fleshing coon please... #1007839
11/24/08 01:54 PM
11/24/08 01:54 PM
SW Oregon Coast
T
Tioga Offline OP
trapper
Tioga  Offline OP
trapper
T

SW Oregon Coast
I am new to fleshing critters. I have done five raccons so far and not sure if I am doing it right. I use a fleshing board and a necker knife. When I flesh the coon I take the big hunks of fat and meat off first. Then it seems like there is another thin layer of fat below the skin thats left. I tried taking that off and I end up with a goo of fat on the blade, but I get the hide to thin in a couple places and I can see little hair tips. I know thats not good. What I need to know is how clean do the pelts need to be? I am drying the ones I did on strechers now. I can see the hide is turning yellow brown where it is drying but mixed in with that is the skin with what looks like fat under it. Is that bad? Please help. How clean does the hide have to be.

Re: Help with fleshing coon please... [Re: Tioga] #1007852
11/24/08 02:08 PM
11/24/08 02:08 PM
SW VIRGINIA
dogman Offline
trapper
dogman  Offline
trapper

SW VIRGINIA
hard to tell much without seeing what you have if you can post some pics of what you have done the experts on here could tell you exactly what need to do.

Re: Help with fleshing coon please... [Re: dogman] #1007857
11/24/08 02:12 PM
11/24/08 02:12 PM
South Central Nebraska age 71