Strictly Trapping

No Profanity *** No Flaming *** No Advertising *** No Anti Trappers *** No Politics
No Non-Target Catches *** No Links to Anti-trapping Sites *** No Avoiding Profanity Filter

Home~Trap Talk~ADC Forum~Trap Shed~Wilderness Trapping~International Trappers~Fur Handling

Auction Forum~Trapper Tips~Links~Gallery~Basic Sets~Convention Calendar~Chat~ Trap Collecting Forum

Trapper's Humor~Strictly Trapping~Fur Buyers Directory~Mugshots~Fur Sale Directory~Wildcrafting

Trapper's Tales~Words From The Past~Legends~Archives~Kids Forum~Lure Formulators Forum

~~~ Dobbins' Products Catalog ~~~

Trading Post
(Please support F&T Trading Post, our sponsor for the Trapping Only Forum)

TrappersPost
Please support Trappers post, a sponsor of the Strictly Trapping Forum

Print Thread
Hop To
New trapper with questions #6504266
03/29/19 09:51 AM
03/29/19 09:51 AM
VA
Georgiaboy71 Offline OP
trapper
Georgiaboy71  Offline OP
trapper

VA
Good morning all.

I'm new to the form and new to trapping in general. I have hunted and fished all my life, but have never had a need to trap until now. My hunt club has seen an explosion in the coyote population and we have had not luck in hunting them. The coyotes will not respond to calling, and 90% of the time they are nocturnal. We are on 2500 acres in central VA, and I have 8 trail cameras running 24/7/356, so I have been able to pattern the coyotes, or at least when they are passing my cameras. I've done all the "school work" about trapping; I've read 3 different books and watched countless tutorial videos from trappers all over the country, but I have no real world experience yet nor anyone to ask, so I'm here to try and fill in the answers to the questions that the research has not answered. I am going to run both dirt-hole and flat sets with K-9 extreme and MB 550 4 coil traps AFTER turkey season is over. ( see which trap I like the best ) We can trap coyotes year round in Virginia, so there is no time crunch on me.