Lure and Bait Making

No Profanity *** No Flaming *** No Advertising *** No Anti Trappers *** No Politics

Home~Trap Talk~ADC Forum~Trap Shed~Wilderness Trapping~International Trappers~Fur Handling

Auction Forum~Trapper Tips~Links~Gallery~Basic Sets~Convention Calendar~Chat~ Trap Collecting Forum

Trapper's Humor~Strictly Trapping~Fur Buyers Directory~Mugshots~Fur Sale Directory~Wildcrafting

Trapper's Tales~Words From The Past~Legends~Archives~Kids Forum~Lure Formulators Forum~ Fermenter's Forum

~~~ Dobbins' Products Catalog ~~~

Southern Snares
Please support our sponsor for the Lure and Bait makers forum - Southern Snares

Print Thread
Hop To
Page 2 of 2 1 2
Re: Preserving Fish for DP Bait [Re: Merriam] #6608847
09/03/19 02:06 PM
09/03/19 02:06 PM
Chauncey, Ohio
W
wormbobskey Offline
trapper
wormbobskey  Offline
trapper
W

Chauncey, Ohio
I have limited experience with shad, but the ones I had before turned to mush after I thawed them out. I laid them out flat in gallon zip lock bags and froze them like that. When I would thaw them when ready to use they couldn't even be removed from bag without falling apart. That is why I just left them whole and mixed in the SB and salt. Once the SB has taken full affect I will jar them up in pint containers to use on the line. Figure a little glycol wouldn't hurt to freeze proof, but salt should have that covered unless it get real cold and coon won't be traveling much anyway.

OSTA
Lanums ADC & Repair
We don't do bugs
Re: Preserving Fish for DP Bait [Re: Merriam] #6610648
09/06/19 08:52 AM
09/06/19 08:52 AM
Mass
TDHP Offline
trapper
TDHP  Offline
trapper

Mass
My end goal is a dp bait that I can just scoop a spoonful into the trap

If all you are going to use is salt and sb (depending on type of material), you will end up with a chunky rubbery (solidified) bait after it sets a while without treating it and it will defeat the purpose of what you're trying to do.

Smile, you're an expert!
http://tdhpwildlifecontrol.webs.com/