Strictly Trapping


No Profanity *** No Flaming *** No Advertising *** No Anti Trappers *** No Politics
No Non-Target Catches *** No Links to Anti-trapping Sites *** No Avoiding Profanity Filter


Home~Trap Talk~ADC Forum~Trap Shed~Wilderness Trapping~International Trappers~Fur Handling

Auction Forum~Trapper Tips~Links~Gallery~Basic Sets~Convention Calendar~Chat~ Trap Collecting Forum

Trapper's Humor~Strictly Trapping~Fur Buyers Directory~Mugshots~Fur Sale Directory~Wildcrafting

Trapper's Tales~Words From The Past~Legends~Archives~Kids Forum~Lure Formulators Forum


~~~ Dobbins' Products Catalog ~~~


Trading Post
(Please support F&T Trading Post, our sponsor for the Trapping Only Forum)



TrappersPost
Please support Trappers post, a sponsor of the Strictly Trapping Forum



Print Thread
Hop To
Re-sets, coyotes #6695072
12/16/19 10:39 AM
12/16/19 10:39 AM
Joined: Jul 2019
Posts: 59
SW MN
R
rbsheadache Offline OP
trapper
rbsheadache  Offline OP
trapper
R

Joined: Jul 2019
Posts: 59
SW MN
First year trapping here so bear with me. I have caught 6 coyotes to date and none have been on a reset. I have set the trap right back in the bed if it wasn't too messed up, or I have moved it towards the edge of the catch circle. We have snow now so I can tell they have been there but they will not commit to the set. I have tried changing baits but that hasn't worked either. Have had them within 4 feet and you can tell they are looking it Should I just say forget the resets and move the trap 10 feet or so or keep with the resets?

I had a old guy from town say that if you catch a male in a set to not even try to reset it because you won't get another coyote in that circle.

Thanks in advance for the advice!

Ryan


Ryan
Re: Re-sets, coyotes [Re: rbsheadache] #6695085
12/16/19 10:49 AM
12/16/19 10:49 AM
Joined: Mar 2015
Posts: 283
In the woods
C
canebrake Offline
trapper
canebrake  Offline
trapper
C

Joined: Mar 2015
Posts: 283
In the woods
I never have luck with coyotes in remakes either. Make a set close by.

Re: Re-sets, coyotes [Re: rbsheadache] #6695095
12/16/19 11:00 AM
12/16/19 11:00 AM
Joined: Jul 2019
Posts: 59
SW MN
R
rbsheadache Offline OP
trapper
rbsheadache  Offline OP
trapper
R

Joined: Jul 2019
Posts: 59
SW MN
I always double set every spot anywhere from 20 feet to 50 yards away. Forgot to mention that.


Ryan
Re: Re-sets, coyotes [Re: rbsheadache] #6695123
12/16/19 11:38 AM
12/16/19 11:38 AM
Joined: May 2011
Posts: 4,286
Montana
B
beartooth trapr Offline
trapper
beartooth trapr  Offline
trapper
B

Joined: May 2011
Posts: 4,286
Montana
I've went to longer chains, and i start every set out with a bait and after a catch go to a lure in a small hole. And a gland lure or urine on the outside blocking. And never thought i would say this but my remakes are my best sets. Don't get me wrong some still refuse the remakes , but the other sets get'um. Or i dont worry about them, seed stock.


Let me sugar coat this
Re: Re-sets, coyotes [Re: rbsheadache] #6695133
12/16/19 11:49 AM
12/16/19 11:49 AM
Joined: May 2008
Posts: 545
Burton, Michigan
M
Mousey Trapper Offline
trapper
Mousey Trapper  Offline
trapper
M

Joined: May 2008
Posts: 545
Burton, Michigan
Do your remake and then put in a set one foot out side the catch circle on the down wind side of the circle.

Re: Re-sets, coyotes [Re: rbsheadache] #6695237
12/16/19 02:05 PM
12/16/19 02:05 PM
Joined: Jan 2017
Posts: 3,837
Marion Kansas
Y
Yes sir Offline
trapper
Yes sir  Offline
trapper
Y

Joined: Jan 2017
Posts: 3,837
Marion Kansas
Kind of seems to regional. I do great on coyote remakes no matter if it was a Male or female first.

Re: Re-sets, coyotes [Re: rbsheadache] #6695257
12/16/19 02:32 PM
12/16/19 02:32 PM
Joined: Nov 2017
Posts: 1,784
West Central MN
2
20scout Offline
trapper
20scout  Offline
trapper
2

Joined: Nov 2017
Posts: 1,784
West Central MN
Never had much luck on remakes, like you I've had a number of refusals after making a catch. Like other said I think it's regional as to success with catches in remakes. I've been told if it's a dominant one caught, others won't enter the catch circle.


Common sense is a not a vegetable that does well in everyone's garden.
Re: Re-sets, coyotes [Re: rbsheadache] #6695453
12/16/19 06:32 PM
12/16/19 06:32 PM
Joined: Aug 2011
Posts: 1,495
Peoria County Illinois
Larry Baer Offline
trapper
Larry Baer  Offline
trapper

Joined: Aug 2011
Posts: 1,495
Peoria County Illinois
I'm convinced it's regional. Some places on my trapline it works - others not at all. I have one set that has taken three in the last two weeks. It never hurts to move your trap or pop in a new set. Sometimes you will have 6 sets in a row on a trail with 6 circles


Just passin through
Re: Re-sets, coyotes [Re: rbsheadache] #6695600
12/16/19 09:13 PM
12/16/19 09:13 PM
Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 365
Central MN
MNCedar Offline
trapper
MNCedar  Offline
trapper

Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 365
Central MN
I used to always pull and put in a new set on the edge of the circle. I never saw enough reward to make up for the extra work, especially in freezing or frozen ground.

It is easy to overlook just how potent and loud a catch circle must be to a coyote. I try to just make an obvious path through the circle with the trap at the lowest point. Like mentioned, sometimes a set gets hot and others it sits for a while. I do think that strong odor and set construction are more at fault for my remakes not connecting. If they're getting within a foot of the trap and shuffling feet, then I blame myself for not giving them the avenue they needed to walk through the set. That's just how I picture it in my head.

Re: Re-sets, coyotes [Re: MNCedar] #6695683
12/16/19 10:32 PM
12/16/19 10:32 PM
Joined: Dec 2019
Posts: 171
Indiana
B
Backbreaker Offline
trapper
Backbreaker  Offline
trapper
B

Joined: Dec 2019
Posts: 171
Indiana
Ryan, you are the man. I've got a bunch of clean traps and I always pull a trap that has made any kind of catch including coyote. For one, I don't want to get my tools and gloves stinking. I pull trap and set 2 to replace it a few feet away. If I had 3 sets and catch one, I will leave with 4 clean sets and clean tools. I have limited trapping area. They get circle shy and hole shy. They have the tendency to put their shoulder down too in strong scent. They are cagey. Good luck.

Re: Re-sets, coyotes [Re: rbsheadache] #6695921
12/17/19 07:04 AM
12/17/19 07:04 AM
Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 18,081
williamsburg ks
D
danny clifton Offline
trapper
danny clifton  Offline
trapper
D

Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 18,081
williamsburg ks
Red fox will get in a trap circle remake. Coyotes usually circle the circle. I use the same trap. Whole area already reeks. Just rub the blood and hair off with dirt. I re-set about 3 feet outside the circle. I don't worry about getting coyote smell on me. Hot shower was invented long before I was born. Pretty good chance that the next coyote by there has already found that coyotes smell here and there in its wanderings. In a spot with lots of competition like a feedlot dead pile I will just reset in the same spot. A hot location will end up with a long rectangular "catch circle". Like Mousey does it I try to play the wind


Those who would give up essential liberty, to purchase a little temporary safety, deserve neither liberty nor safety. Benjamin Franklin (1706-1790)
Re: Re-sets, coyotes [Re: rbsheadache] #6695941
12/17/19 07:38 AM
12/17/19 07:38 AM
Joined: Jul 2012
Posts: 2,075
Nebraska
WadeRyan Offline
trapper
WadeRyan  Offline
trapper

Joined: Jul 2012
Posts: 2,075
Nebraska
I always reset the catch circle and usually have a fresh set just outside of it. The only time I pull a trap from a catch circle is if it gets too beat up for me to control their approach. At some point you just can't make it work anymore. Five is the most coyotes I've taken out of one catch circle. Eight fox. When I was just running a week or two ago I had coyotes caught in remakes within a day or two. Some won't do it. I just kill the dumb ones.


Follow me on YouTube if you’re bored

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC5Ulx1woYMmCN3IPLB0wwFw


Re: Re-sets, coyotes [Re: rbsheadache] #6695961
12/17/19 07:54 AM
12/17/19 07:54 AM
Joined: Mar 2014
Posts: 229
Indiana
F
fishnhunts Offline
trapper
fishnhunts  Offline
trapper
F

Joined: Mar 2014
Posts: 229
Indiana
Many times I think I've done better in remakes than the original set. I have a large area (about 800 acres) that I would run about 20-30 sets on. Nearly every year I have 3 or 4 sets that catch most of the coyotes. It may have more to do with location than anything, but I always set 2 within close proximity(10-15 feet) and once one of the 2 hit, I would always catch more in that remake and rarely in the "fresh" set. I usually always use a compass set in remakes. I'm off to a slow start this year with only 2 sets out until I can get through Christmas and I've caught 2 in each set over the last week. They sat for 5 days or so with nothing and both hit 2 nights after the remake.

Re: Re-sets, coyotes [Re: rbsheadache] #6695980
12/17/19 08:04 AM
12/17/19 08:04 AM
Joined: Nov 2011
Posts: 317
Allegany State Park area of NY
Archeryguy Offline
trapper
Archeryguy  Offline
trapper

Joined: Nov 2011
Posts: 317
Allegany State Park area of NY
I've never done well with resets in the catch circle. I have done very well in new sets, usually flat sets out side of the catch circle. Has anyone ever tried using the anal glands from the caught coyote in a fresh flat set or dirt hole just outside the circle? Seems as through it might trigger a good response.

Re: Re-sets, coyotes [Re: Archeryguy] #6696151
12/17/19 10:43 AM
12/17/19 10:43 AM
Joined: Nov 2014
Posts: 448
S.W. Michigan
L
late bite Offline
trapper
late bite  Offline
trapper
L

Joined: Nov 2014
Posts: 448
S.W. Michigan
Originally Posted by Archeryguy
I've never done well with resets in the catch circle. I have done very well in new sets, usually flat sets out side of the catch circle. Has anyone ever tried using the anal glands from the caught coyote in a fresh flat set or dirt hole just outside the circle? Seems as through it might trigger a good response.


There is a pretty darn good trapper "who's name cannot be mentioned on this site", that claims the coyote anal smell is why the catch circle gets rejected...........

Re: Re-sets, coyotes [Re: rbsheadache] #6696182
12/17/19 11:08 AM
12/17/19 11:08 AM
Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,515
Huntingdon Co. Pa.
F
forestman3 Offline
trapper
forestman3  Offline
trapper
F

Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,515
Huntingdon Co. Pa.
I want the odds in my favor.When I catch anything but a bobcat I pull the trap and move it outside the catch circle.When trapping in Kansas last year I caught a coyote on the edge of a cow path and it must of just got caught because their wasn`t even a catch circle.So I thought how much scent can be their and reset it.Two or three days later it snowed 2 inches and that night a coyote came down the path.Around 5 feet in front of the catch circle (which was all most no catch circle and under two inches of snow)the coyote never broke stride and circled right around the catch circle,staying around 5 feet away from the catch circle and went on down the cow path 20 feet to where my buddy had a set and their it set. I have caught coyotes in remakes but for me I want everything in my favor.I allso think I can move a trap and reset it just about as fast as I can remake a set in a remake.

Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread

Moderated by  Drifter, tmrschessie, Wolfdog91 

Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.1