Strictly Trapping

No Profanity *** No Flaming *** No Advertising *** No Anti Trappers *** No Politics
No Non-Target Catches *** No Links to Anti-trapping Sites *** No Avoiding Profanity Filter

Home~Trap Talk~ADC Forum~Trap Shed~Wilderness Trapping~International Trappers~Fur Handling

Auction Forum~Trapper Tips~Links~Gallery~Basic Sets~Convention Calendar~Chat~ Trap Collecting Forum

Trapper's Humor~Strictly Trapping~Fur Buyers Directory~Mugshots~Fur Sale Directory~Wildcrafting

Trapper's Tales~Words From The Past~Legends~Archives~Kids Forum~Lure Formulators Forum

~~~ Dobbins' Products Catalog ~~~

Trading Post
(Please support F&T Trading Post, our sponsor for the Trapping Only Forum)

TrappersPost
Please support Trappers post, a sponsor of the Strictly Trapping Forum

Print Thread
Hop To
Replacement Springs for Montana #3 Dogless #6964991
08/15/20 04:31 PM
08/15/20 04:31 PM
AK
H
HamNBones Offline OP
trapper
HamNBones  Offline OP
trapper
H

AK
Hey all,

I'm just getting into coyote trapping and recently picked up some used Montana #3 specials (fully modified). One things I've noticed is that many of the traps feel weak and mushy. The springs are clearly past their usefulness and so I'd like to/need to replace them all.

My question is what to replace them with. I'll be using them for coyote and the occasional fox, and will undoubtedly pick up raccoon in the process. Should I go for #3 music wire springs or #2 music wire springs for the main springs?

Also, how big can I go on the 4 coils? If possible, I'd like the helper springs to be strong enough to hopefully even out some of the tension on each lever. As I'm sure many of you are aware, the levers on these traps are not level due to the power of the main springs.

Thoughts?

Re: Replacement Springs for Montana #3 Dogless [Re: HamNBones] #6965033
08/15/20 05:15 PM
08/15/20 05:15 PM
Wisconsin
T
The Beav Online content
trapper
The Beav  Online Content
trapper
T

Wisconsin