Strictly Trapping


No Profanity *** No Flaming *** No Advertising *** No Anti Trappers *** No Politics
No Non-Target Catches *** No Links to Anti-trapping Sites *** No Avoiding Profanity Filter


Home~Trap Talk~ADC Forum~Trap Shed~Wilderness Trapping~International Trappers~Fur Handling

Auction Forum~Trapper Tips~Links~Gallery~Basic Sets~Convention Calendar~Chat~ Trap Collecting Forum

Trapper's Humor~Strictly Trapping~Fur Buyers Directory~Mugshots~Fur Sale Directory~Wildcrafting

Trapper's Tales~Words From The Past~Legends~Archives~Kids Forum~Lure Formulators Forum


~~~ Dobbins' Products Catalog ~~~


Trading Post
(Please support F&T Trading Post, our sponsor for the Trapping Only Forum)



TrappersPost
Please support Trappers post, a sponsor of the Strictly Trapping Forum



Print Thread
Hop To
Muddy remake #7059097
11/22/20 06:12 PM
11/22/20 06:12 PM
Joined: Aug 2016
Posts: 398
PA
Squaretimber Offline OP
trapper
Squaretimber  Offline OP
trapper

Joined: Aug 2016
Posts: 398
PA
I caught a few coons in my coyote sets last night while it was raining. I re bedded the trap but can't sift mud over it so I blended the set with grass. Will this be ok or do I need to buy peat or topsoil to cover trap?

Re: Muddy remake [Re: Squaretimber] #7059352
11/22/20 09:26 PM
11/22/20 09:26 PM
Joined: May 2018
Posts: 7,225
SW Georgia
W
Wanna Be Offline
trapper
Wanna Be  Offline
trapper
W

Joined: May 2018
Posts: 7,225
SW Georgia
I would just move the trap to a less muddy area outside the mud pit.

Re: Muddy remake [Re: Squaretimber] #7059706
11/23/20 10:27 AM
11/23/20 10:27 AM
Joined: Dec 2017
Posts: 120
Kentucky
E
ebfarmer Offline
trapper
ebfarmer  Offline
trapper
E

Joined: Dec 2017
Posts: 120
Kentucky
I often cover those muddy remakes with peat. I also spread the peat moss to cover most of the catch circle, i believe it helps to blend in the trap. sort of making the surroundings match the trap bed instead of the other way around. i hate to give up on a catch circle, it is a hot spot with lots of scent, and a dirty trap that then can't be reset until it is cleaned up.

Last edited by ebfarmer; 11/23/20 10:29 AM.
Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread

Moderated by  Drifter, tmrschessie, Wolfdog91 

Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.1