Fur Handling Forum

No Profanity *** No Flaming *** No Advertising *** No Anti Trappers *** No Politics
No Non-Target Catches *** No Links to Anti-trapping Sites *** No Avoiding Profanity Filter

Home~Trap Talk~ADC Forum~Trap Shed~Wilderness Trapping~International Trappers~Fur Handling

Auction Forum~Trapper Tips~Links~Gallery~Basic Sets~Convention Calendar~Chat~ Trap Collecting Forum

Trapper's Humor~Strictly Trapping~Fur Buyers Directory~Mugshots~Fur Sale Directory~Wildcrafting

Trapper's Tales~Words From The Past~Legends~Archives~Kids Forum~Lure Formulators Forum

~Dobbins' Catalog~

>
Trading Post
(Please support F&T Trading Post, our sponsor for the Fur Handling Page)

Print Thread
Hop To
Fleshing coons #7168498
02/04/21 01:12 AM
02/04/21 01:12 AM
CO/KS
S
sevensixtwo Offline OP
trapper
sevensixtwo  Offline OP
trapper
S

CO/KS
Hey I'm new to this and wondering whats going on with the two coons on the right? They were a couple of the first ones ive done. The one on the left is my most recent.
[Linked Image]

Also any tips? Ive been attempting to get as much flesh of the face as I can also although ive watched videos where other people dont.

Re: Fleshing coons [Re: sevensixtwo] #7168818
02/04/21 11:00 AM
02/04/21 11:00 AM
Wisconsin
T
The Beav Offline
trapper
The Beav  Offline
trapper
T

Wisconsin
The 2 coon on the right are early coon. They still have blood In the hair follicles (roots) and that's wast gives them that color. The third coon from the right Is very close to being fully prime. And as yo can see the far left coon has reached full primness.

Your fleshing job Is perfect. I have put up coon professionally and I never scraped the faces.There just Isn't enough meat or gristle to worry about.

Turn those coon around and lets take a look at the belly side.

The forum Know It All according to Muskrat
Re: Fleshing coons [Re: sevensixtwo] #7168854
02/04/21 11:22 AM
02/04/21 11:22 AM
Houghton Lake, MI
strike2x Offline
trapper
strike2x  Offline
trapper