Strictly Trapping

No Profanity *** No Flaming *** No Advertising *** No Anti Trappers *** No Politics
No Non-Target Catches *** No Links to Anti-trapping Sites *** No Avoiding Profanity Filter

Home~Trap Talk~ADC Forum~Trap Shed~Wilderness Trapping~International Trappers~Fur Handling

Auction Forum~Trapper Tips~Links~Gallery~Basic Sets~Convention Calendar~Chat~ Trap Collecting Forum

Trapper's Humor~Strictly Trapping~Fur Buyers Directory~Mugshots~Fur Sale Directory~Wildcrafting

Trapper's Tales~Words From The Past~Legends~Archives~Kids Forum~Lure Formulators Forum

~~~ Dobbins' Products Catalog ~~~

Trading Post
(Please support F&T Trading Post, our sponsor for the Trapping Only Forum)

TrappersPost
Please support Trappers post, a sponsor of the Strictly Trapping Forum

Print Thread
Hop To
Snow trapping help #7722119
11/19/22 11:43 PM
11/19/22 11:43 PM
Saskatchewan
S
Sasktrapper06 Offline OP
trapper
Sasktrapper06  Offline OP
trapper
S

Saskatchewan
I'm new to trapping with legholds and am having trouble with keeping snow drifts off my sets. The traps go off well without the hard snow over them but once it gets caked on, a coyote isn't heavy enough to compress the snow. It also covers up my dirt hole and bait. I'm up in Saskatchewan, we currently have about 2 feet of snow and it blows every day.

Also, does anyone have any suggestions on places to set? Fields are too deep to get into with a truck and so are most of the less used roads. I have a snowmobile, but it can be difficult to load everything on it and is a lot easier out of a truck.

Any help would be appreciated.

Re: Snow trapping help [Re: Sasktrapper06] #7722167
11/20/22 02:10 AM
11/20/22 02:10 AM
Idaho
B
bearcat2 Offline
trapper
bearcat2  Offline
trapper
B

Idaho