Lure and Bait Making

No Profanity *** No Flaming *** No Advertising *** No Anti Trappers *** No Politics

Home~Trap Talk~ADC Forum~Trap Shed~Wilderness Trapping~International Trappers~Fur Handling

Auction Forum~Trapper Tips~Links~Gallery~Basic Sets~Convention Calendar~Chat~ Trap Collecting Forum

Trapper's Humor~Strictly Trapping~Fur Buyers Directory~Mugshots~Fur Sale Directory~Wildcrafting

Trapper's Tales~Words From The Past~Legends~Archives~Kids Forum~Lure Formulators Forum~ Fermenter's Forum

~~~ Dobbins' Products Catalog ~~~

Southern Snares
Please support our sponsor for the Lure and Bait makers forum - Southern Snares

Print Thread
Hop To
Wild Hog Bait #7778327
01/21/23 12:17 PM
01/21/23 12:17 PM
Colorado
S
saudert Offline OP
trapper
saudert  Offline OP
trapper
S

Colorado
Hello all,
I'm new to trapping and have had success with commercial baits. However I am interested in making my own bait for next year, which will be almost exclusively for coyote and bobcat.
Has anyone used wild/feral hog meat? While I've read other forum posts that say just about any red meat will work, I was wondering about feral pigs which do not occur where I trap (hunting hogs in Texas, trapping in the mountains of CO). I was thinking of using the meat, liver, and heart.
Thanks for any thoughts or insights you may have!

Re: Wild Hog Bait [Re: saudert] #7778349
01/21/23 12:36 PM
01/21/23 12:36 PM
Marion Kansas
Y
Yes sir Offline
"Callie's little brother"
Yes sir  Offline
"Callie's little brother"
Y

Marion Kansas