Strictly Trapping


No Profanity *** No Flaming *** No Advertising *** No Anti Trappers *** No Politics
No Non-Target Catches *** No Links to Anti-trapping Sites *** No Avoiding Profanity Filter


Home~Trap Talk~ADC Forum~Trap Shed~Wilderness Trapping~International Trappers~Fur Handling

Auction Forum~Trapper Tips~Links~Gallery~Basic Sets~Convention Calendar~Chat~ Trap Collecting Forum

Trapper's Humor~Strictly Trapping~Fur Buyers Directory~Mugshots~Fur Sale Directory~Wildcrafting

Trapper's Tales~Words From The Past~Legends~Archives~Kids Forum~Lure Formulators Forum


~~~ Dobbins' Products Catalog ~~~


Trading Post
(Please support F&T Trading Post, our sponsor for the Trapping Only Forum)



TrappersPost
Please support Trappers post, a sponsor of the Strictly Trapping Forum



Print Thread
Hop To
Attaching trap to fiber stakes #7919858
08/03/23 06:36 PM
08/03/23 06:36 PM
Joined: Jan 2016
Posts: 1,260
Indiana
C
concrete man Offline OP
trapper
concrete man  Offline OP
trapper
C

Joined: Jan 2016
Posts: 1,260
Indiana
What is a cheap way to attach trap to the half inch fiberglass stakes.

Re: Attaching trap to fiber stakes [Re: concrete man] #7920010
08/03/23 09:16 PM
08/03/23 09:16 PM
Joined: Nov 2017
Posts: 126
Somerset Pennsylvania
F
FarmerDan Offline
trapper
FarmerDan  Offline
trapper
F

Joined: Nov 2017
Posts: 126
Somerset Pennsylvania
I would imagine you can just run it right trough the swivel? Or are you talk about a drowning rod. The Hagz universal drowners look really nice. Iíve bad a few for chain by cutting a cube from square tubbing and adding the tail piece

Re: Attaching trap to fiber stakes [Re: concrete man] #7920096
08/04/23 01:13 AM
08/04/23 01:13 AM
Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 23,742
Wisconsin
T
The Beav Offline
trapper
The Beav  Offline
trapper
T

Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 23,742
Wisconsin
Take about 14" of cable. On one end form a fixed loop with double Ferrel. On the other end form a loop with a double Ferrel and a stop button This will form a slip noose. Slip the fixed loop through the trap ring or the terminal swivel. Then slip the slip noose through the fixed loop. Now The cable Is attached to the trap. Then you just slip the noose end over your stake and pull It tight. And your good to go.


The forum Know It All according to Muskrat
Re: Attaching trap to fiber stakes [Re: concrete man] #7920097
08/04/23 01:22 AM
08/04/23 01:22 AM
Joined: Jun 2022
Posts: 1,271
South Dakota
T
TheYouthTrapper Offline
trapper
TheYouthTrapper  Offline
trapper
T

Joined: Jun 2022
Posts: 1,271
South Dakota
Hagz brackets are some of the best that I've seen for attaching and then using as a stand if need be or snap max clips threaded through the hole on the end of the swivel.

Re: Attaching trap to fiber stakes [Re: concrete man] #7920235
08/04/23 08:57 AM
08/04/23 08:57 AM
Joined: Jan 2016
Posts: 1,260
Indiana
C
concrete man Offline OP
trapper
concrete man  Offline OP
trapper
C

Joined: Jan 2016
Posts: 1,260
Indiana
So this is what you're saying [Linked Image]
This is my set up [Linked Image]

Re: Attaching trap to fiber stakes [Re: concrete man] #7920239
08/04/23 09:01 AM
08/04/23 09:01 AM
Joined: Jan 2016
Posts: 1,260
Indiana
C
concrete man Offline OP
trapper
concrete man  Offline OP
trapper
C

Joined: Jan 2016
Posts: 1,260
Indiana
So this is what you're saying [Linked Image]
This is my set up [Linked Image]
[Linked Image]
Wrong pic the first pic is how I attach to Electric. post.

Re: Attaching trap to fiber stakes [Re: concrete man] #7920252
08/04/23 09:16 AM
08/04/23 09:16 AM
Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 23,742
Wisconsin
T
The Beav Offline
trapper
The Beav  Offline
trapper
T

Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 23,742
Wisconsin
I build mine with snare like loop on one end. That way you can snug It up on the stake . I take a double Ferrel and slip the cable through both holes forming a loop. Then on the short end crush on a stop button. This will form a slip noose.

Last edited by The Beav; 08/04/23 09:16 AM.

The forum Know It All according to Muskrat
Re: Attaching trap to fiber stakes [Re: concrete man] #7920272
08/04/23 09:38 AM
08/04/23 09:38 AM
Joined: Jan 2016
Posts: 1,260
Indiana
C
concrete man Offline OP
trapper
concrete man  Offline OP
trapper
C

Joined: Jan 2016
Posts: 1,260
Indiana
So like this . [Linked Image]
Do you have any trouble with coons or geese pulling the trap from the stake.

Re: Attaching trap to fiber stakes [Re: concrete man] #7920287
08/04/23 09:53 AM
08/04/23 09:53 AM
Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 23,742
Wisconsin
T
The Beav Offline
trapper
The Beav  Offline
trapper
T

Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 23,742
Wisconsin
Thanks for the pic. That's how I do It. So far I haven't had any slide off. But It's possible.
A few wraps around the top section of the stake with some electrical tape would form a bump and solve that problem.

On my drowning rods I place a cable clamp on the bottom end for a stop. Those could be used on a fiber glass stake.


The forum Know It All according to Muskrat
Re: Attaching trap to fiber stakes [Re: concrete man] #7920294
08/04/23 09:59 AM
08/04/23 09:59 AM
Joined: Jan 2016
Posts: 1,260
Indiana
C
concrete man Offline OP
trapper
concrete man  Offline OP
trapper
C

Joined: Jan 2016
Posts: 1,260
Indiana
Thanks I might go with that.

Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread

Moderated by  Drifter, Wolfdog91 

Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.1