Fur Handling Archive

No Profanity *** No Flaming *** No Advertising *** No Anti Trappers *** No Politics
No Non-Target Catches *** No Links to Anti-trapping Sites *** No Avoiding Profanity Filter

Home~Trap Talk~ADC Forum~Trap Shed~Wilderness Trapping~International Trappers~Fur Handling

Auction Forum~Trapper Tips~Links~Gallery~Basic Sets~Convention Calendar~Chat~ Trap Collecting Forum

Trapper's Humor~Strictly Trapping~Fur Buyers Directory~Mugshots~Fur Sale Directory~Wildcrafting

Trapper's Tales~Words From The Past~Legends~Archives~Kids Forum~Lure Formulators Forum

~Catalog~

Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Coon skinning failure question #1569570
11/01/09 02:09 AM
11/01/09 02:09 AM
South Milwaukee, Wisconsin
lanternguy Offline OP
trapper
lanternguy  Offline OP
trapper

OK,
So I'm new to this whole trapping and fur harvest scene. In fact, I don't even have my trapping license yet (working on it). Anyway, I bagged my first coon about a two weeks ago, small game hunting. I see BIG possibilities here, off set retirement, home tanning business, the whole nine yards. My nine year old son calls dibs on the coon. He wants revenge against the species for eating his pet turtle "Huberta" last summer, and he wants a hat. So I begin skinning this hat with legs. My GOD man!!! After 2 1/2 hours and several flurries of language that I will need to ask for penance over, the skin falls from the carcass. The garage floor resembles the bedroom scene in Friday the 13th, hmmmmmmm.

After a quick smoke I get down to scraping. I have no fleshing tools yet, so I start out with the "butter knife" I have read about. That was about as useful as, well, a butter knife going through coon. After 15 minutes of kneading the fatty beast I fall into admitted defeat and another smoke. Being an avid woodworker, it dawns on me, HA! DRAWKNIFE! It resembles a fleshing knife if you ask me. I select one with a rather dull edge on it and get back to my duties.