Strictly Trapping


No Profanity *** No Flaming *** No Advertising *** No Anti Trappers *** No Politics
No Non-Target Catches *** No Links to Anti-trapping Sites *** No Avoiding Profanity Filter


Home~Trap Talk~ADC Forum~Trap Shed~Wilderness Trapping~International Trappers~Fur Handling

Auction Forum~Trapper Tips~Links~Gallery~Basic Sets~Convention Calendar~Chat~ Trap Collecting Forum

Trapper's Humor~Strictly Trapping~Fur Buyers Directory~Mugshots~Fur Sale Directory~Wildcrafting

Trapper's Tales~Words From The Past~Legends~Archives~Kids Forum~Lure Formulators Forum


~~~ Dobbins' Products Catalog ~~~


Trading Post
(Please support F&T Trading Post, our sponsor for the Trapping Only Forum)



TrappersPost
Please support Trappers post, a sponsor of the Strictly Trapping Forum



Print Thread
Hop To
Chain size for super stakes #7802978
02/20/23 12:27 PM
02/20/23 12:27 PM
Joined: Jun 2022
Posts: 10
West Virginia
W
Wildandrooted304 Offline OP
trapper
Wildandrooted304  Offline OP
trapper
W

Joined: Jun 2022
Posts: 10
West Virginia
What size chain is everyone using for super stakes for coyotes?
#2 seems to be the standard from what Iíve seen?
Anyone ever had a coyote break #2 chain?
I guess if you were going to break it it would be while pulling it and not from a coyote?
Whatís your experience been?
Thanks

Re: Chain size for super stakes [Re: Wildandrooted304] #7802990
02/20/23 12:59 PM
02/20/23 12:59 PM
Joined: Aug 2018
Posts: 3,701
Pennsylvania
The hammer Offline
trapper
The hammer  Offline
trapper

Joined: Aug 2018
Posts: 3,701
Pennsylvania
I use number 3 just because itís what is already on my traps. Also like you said little stronger for when retrieving them. But number two will hold just fine even save you a little bit of weight in the back of the rig.

Re: Chain size for super stakes [Re: Wildandrooted304] #7803062
02/20/23 02:53 PM
02/20/23 02:53 PM
Joined: May 2018
Posts: 9,531
SW Georgia
W
Wanna Be Offline
trapper
Wanna Be  Offline
trapper
W

Joined: May 2018
Posts: 9,531
SW Georgia
Think the chained super stakes I bought was #2. Havenít tried pulling with a F150, but it will stand a 4-wheeler on end and not break. It didnít come up either, lol. Chain has been there for 4 years now and gets tested and set every season. That spot is always good for a couple coyotes and a bobcat every season.

Re: Chain size for super stakes [Re: Wildandrooted304] #7803126
02/20/23 04:46 PM
02/20/23 04:46 PM
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 3,960
Northern Nevada
B
Bob Offline
trapper
Bob  Offline
trapper
B

Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 3,960
Northern Nevada
Mine have #2 chain. I have broken it, with 4 feet of cheater pipe and nearly giving myself a hernia. No coyote on the face of the earth is gonna break it.


"I have two guns, one for each of ya."
Re: Chain size for super stakes [Re: Wildandrooted304] #7803154
02/20/23 05:17 PM
02/20/23 05:17 PM
Joined: Dec 2012
Posts: 2,104
NC - Here there and everywhere
C
coondagger2 Offline
"Brat"
coondagger2  Offline
"Brat"
C

Joined: Dec 2012
Posts: 2,104
NC - Here there and everywhere
I break #2 chain like a twig with my stake puller and have broken #3 a time or two, granted my soil isn't really soil it's more rock.

Mine get #3 chain only. I even have some old stakes that you can visibly see how the #2 has stretched and is almost broken


Gotta live up to the nickname...
Re: Chain size for super stakes [Re: Wildandrooted304] #7803218
02/20/23 06:32 PM
02/20/23 06:32 PM
Joined: May 2018
Posts: 9,531
SW Georgia
W
Wanna Be Offline
trapper
Wanna Be  Offline
trapper
W

Joined: May 2018
Posts: 9,531
SW Georgia
Holy cow, I thought my 4-wheeler was sorta strong, lol. It just stands on end with a winch. I donít have a cheater bar, but to be honest if it takes that much trouble Iíd leave it, or will now use a drag.

Re: Chain size for super stakes [Re: Wildandrooted304] #7803358
02/20/23 09:04 PM
02/20/23 09:04 PM
Joined: Feb 2020
Posts: 123
Pennsylvania
J
JesseA Offline
trapper
JesseA  Offline
trapper
J

Joined: Feb 2020
Posts: 123
Pennsylvania
I have a bunch that I bought with #2 chain still, but as I've been replacing anchors I've been going to all #3 chain. I've snapped both with my stake puller, and sometimes pull with the pickup, so I like the added insurance of #3

Re: Chain size for super stakes [Re: Wanna Be] #7803878
02/21/23 03:23 PM
02/21/23 03:23 PM
Joined: Dec 2012
Posts: 2,104
NC - Here there and everywhere
C
coondagger2 Offline
"Brat"
coondagger2  Offline
"Brat"
C

Joined: Dec 2012
Posts: 2,104
NC - Here there and everywhere
Originally Posted by Wanna Be
Holy cow, I thought my 4-wheeler was sorta strong, lol. It just stands on end with a winch. I donít have a cheater bar, but to be honest if it takes that much trouble Iíd leave it, or will now use a drag.

You gotta really want them to get them back here! I drill down beside them with my auger the best I can and that helps a lot, but when I am pulling I have about 1 in 12 that I will break somehow. I have even broken #3 when driving them in before. I guess the middle of the chain was on a rock and I beat it so hard I cut the chain

I messed with drags a little bit but I dispatch everything with a death ray and it is really interesting to get a bobcat, gray fox, or a spunky coyote in my death ray when they have 10+ feet of chain to dance around on


Gotta live up to the nickname...
Re: Chain size for super stakes [Re: coondagger2] #7803881
02/21/23 03:27 PM
02/21/23 03:27 PM
Joined: May 2018
Posts: 9,531
SW Georgia
W
Wanna Be Offline
trapper
Wanna Be  Offline
trapper
W

Joined: May 2018
Posts: 9,531
SW Georgia
Originally Posted by coondagger2
Originally Posted by Wanna Be
Holy cow, I thought my 4-wheeler was sorta strong, lol. It just stands on end with a winch. I donít have a cheater bar, but to be honest if it takes that much trouble Iíd leave it, or will now use a drag.

You gotta really want them to get them back here! I drill down beside them with my auger the best I can and that helps a lot, but when I am pulling I have about 1 in 12 that I will break somehow. I have even broken #3 when driving them in before. I guess the middle of the chain was on a rock and I beat it so hard I cut the chain

I messed with drags a little bit but I dispatch everything with a death ray and it is really interesting to get a bobcat, gray fox, or a spunky coyote in my death ray when they have 10+ feet of chain to dance around on

Iím banking theyíll be so wrapped up in the brush that theyíll about be stuck, lol. Besides, Georgia Law ďrequiresĒ dispatch with a .22LR.

Re: Chain size for super stakes [Re: Wildandrooted304] #7803889
02/21/23 03:38 PM
02/21/23 03:38 PM
Joined: May 2018
Posts: 9,531
SW Georgia
W
Wanna Be Offline
trapper
Wanna Be  Offline
trapper
W

Joined: May 2018
Posts: 9,531
SW Georgia
I use a drill and auger as well. About the only time I have issues is Summer time trapping when that clay turns to cement. Iíve taken a few gallons of water to retrieve when itís been dry a while. Drill as far as I can and pour water and move to the next and repeat. Then make my way back and drill some more and hopefully pull. Not every set is in that kind of dirt, thank God!!! Thatís when Iíll really utilize the drags. Plus Iíve never caught one on a drag so Iím experimenting now. Just have one set out with one, hoping itíll connect. Just waiting for it to come back through.

Re: Chain size for super stakes [Re: Wildandrooted304] #7804226
02/21/23 11:02 PM
02/21/23 11:02 PM
Joined: Aug 2013
Posts: 255
Iowa
M
Mitch L Offline
trapper
Mitch L  Offline
trapper
M

Joined: Aug 2013
Posts: 255
Iowa
I have broke #2 ONCE pulling a trap from frozen ground with a stake puller.

Re: Chain size for super stakes [Re: Wildandrooted304] #7804268
02/22/23 12:06 AM
02/22/23 12:06 AM
Joined: Feb 2020
Posts: 140
Idaho
F
Fiske Offline
trapper
Fiske  Offline
trapper
F

Joined: Feb 2020
Posts: 140
Idaho
Only use #7 chain, don't have to worry about anything breaking it

Re: Chain size for super stakes [Re: Wildandrooted304] #7804854
02/22/23 07:58 PM
02/22/23 07:58 PM
Joined: Jan 2022
Posts: 223
Texas
Sharkhunter Offline
trapper
Sharkhunter  Offline
trapper

Joined: Jan 2022
Posts: 223
Texas
If my ground gets hard before I have a chance to pull Iíll break #2 really easy! #3 or larger all the way for me !

Re: Chain size for super stakes [Re: Wildandrooted304] #7804955
02/22/23 09:39 PM
02/22/23 09:39 PM
Joined: Jan 2017
Posts: 9,276
Marion Kansas
Y
Yes sir Offline
trapper
Yes sir  Offline
trapper
Y

Joined: Jan 2017
Posts: 9,276
Marion Kansas
A coyote isn't going to break #2 which is what I use. I have broke some with my puller in frozen ground with my puller but u really have to try to brake it. I try to just wait tell the ground is thawed or not frozen too deep.

Re: Chain size for super stakes [Re: Wildandrooted304] #7805930
02/24/23 12:29 AM
02/24/23 12:29 AM
Joined: Oct 2011
Posts: 1,984
Idaho
B
bearcat2 Offline
trapper
bearcat2  Offline
trapper
B

Joined: Oct 2011
Posts: 1,984
Idaho
I run #5 chain. #3 is sufficient, but we have wolves, lions and bears (I don't think any of them would break #3 either, but #5 is a little added insurance). Most of mine are attached with welded swivels, so they don't come off the trap (I usually carry bolt cutters when pulling in case I can't pull some and need to cut them) but I often attach a drag to the chain just above the earth anchor, and a 1/4" quick link will fit through #5 chain but not #3.

Downfall is, you aren't breaking #5 chain if you can't pull it, so you need something to cut it if you don't have a quick link or other way to detach it.

Re: Chain size for super stakes [Re: Wildandrooted304] #7806064
02/24/23 08:52 AM
02/24/23 08:52 AM
Joined: Dec 2012
Posts: 2,104
NC - Here there and everywhere
C
coondagger2 Offline
"Brat"
coondagger2  Offline
"Brat"
C

Joined: Dec 2012
Posts: 2,104
NC - Here there and everywhere
Not to hijack but I have a question on the way chain sizes are labeled

Here at work we have a large inventory of chain that our electric department and tree trimming crews use. We have both US made and foreign made in our inventory

The US made chain gets larger as the size gets smaller, think wire gauges or shotgun gauges. So #2 american chain is larger than #5 american chain

The foreign chain is the other way around. #5 would be larger than #2.

Is the american chain we are being sold really american?


Gotta live up to the nickname...
Re: Chain size for super stakes [Re: Wildandrooted304] #7806682
02/25/23 03:13 AM
02/25/23 03:13 AM
Joined: Oct 2011
Posts: 1,984
Idaho
B
bearcat2 Offline
trapper
bearcat2  Offline
trapper
B

Joined: Oct 2011
Posts: 1,984
Idaho
The only place I have seen chain sold by the # sizes like all the trappers on here refer to are trapping supply places. Anywhere local you go to buy chain around here the sizing is totally different.

Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread

Moderated by  Drifter, tmrschessie, Wolfdog91 

Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.1